Author Thread: The Bully
Admin

The Bully
Posted : 9 Feb, 2011 06:06 AM

We teach our children that to stand and watch another child being picked on or made fun of is the wrong thing to do.

If a Christian sees this being done, should they speak up or just stay out of it to avoid the conflict?

You opinions please!

View Profile
History
The Bully
Posted : 9 Feb, 2011 08:43 AM

I do not like seeing people being picked on; it's kind of a pet peeve of mine. I think as Christians we should speak up, but not in a rude or confrontational manner. We need to approach the situation with love and try to mediate between the people involved. As a teacher, I often play the role of mediator between my students. I always offer the opportunity for the students involved to talk through what happened and why and how it makes them feel. During the conversation, I always ask the bully if he or she would like it if someone did that to them. Something I teach my students and will definitely teach my own children someday is to treat everyone how you want to me treated.

View Profile
History
The Bully
Posted : 9 Feb, 2011 10:51 AM

When I was young, some disabled chidren (brother and sister) and I rode the same school bus. A few of the older kids would pick on them when the bus driver wasn't paying attention. I would get so mad, but because they were older, I was scared to say anything because I was afraid they would be mean to me. So initially, I told my mother about it, to see if she could help...didn't work. Then, I told the bus driver...didn't work.

The torment continued for the disabled kids and I felt so helpless and guilty! Until one day, I'd had enough. I stood up to those bullies (in a very loud voice! Haha!) and said they had better leave them alone or I would make sure they got what was coming to them! Haha! I didn't even know what I was referring to, but they sure didn't either!