Author Thread: Some advice needed...
Admin

Some advice needed...
Posted : 17 May, 2010 03:07 PM

Hey.

I am a young trainee pastor/minister, and one of the young people that I have come into contact with during my training, and whom I now consider to be a friend, (we are both about 24/25) recently told me that he was sharing a bed with his partner, but that they had never had sex with each other. He then proceeded to ask me if this was okay, because they were not having sex.

I told him that I, personally, thought that it was NOT okay, because of the mindset of the people in the church if they found out about them sharing a bed, they would ignore the not having sex part. I also said that it was not, in my personal opinion, okay because it goes against the part of the Lord's prayer where was ask for protection from temptation - and I feel that god says he will only protect if we don't put ourselves in stupid situations, and, as such, even though they are not having sex, the temptation to have sex is always there as long they are living in the same house, let alone sharing the same bed.

My friend said that he thought I was being a bit harsh upon him. IS this so? Was i harsh in telling him not to sleep in the same bed with his girlfriend? even though they are not having sex with each other?

So this is where advice comes in with answers to these questions, if you woudl be so kind: -

- Was I too harsh on my friend?

- If so, what approach should I have taken?

- Is there anyway I could have done this differently, without seeming harsh, even if i wasn't harsh?

Ahead of time, thanks, because your answers shall help me with my future ministry, so a huge thank you to all who shall respond.

View Profile
History
Some advice needed...
Posted : 17 May, 2010 04:01 PM

Hi